Pakistan announces 16-member squad for Test series against South Africa

Fast-pacer Mohammad Amir called in to face Proteas
LAHORE – Pakistan’s National Selection Committee, headed by Inzamam-ul-Haq, after consultation with Captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Head Coach Mickey Arthur, has announced the 16 member Test squad for three Test matches against South Africa.

The first Test match of the three-match series will be played at Centurion from December 26 to 30, 2018, according to a press release by the country’s cricket board (PCB).

The second Test match will be played at Cape Town from January 3 to 7, 2019. The third and final Test match of the series will be played at Johannesburg from January 11 to 15, 2019.

“The best possible squad has been selected keeping in mind the conditions of South Africa. Three openers have been selected in the squad, where Shan Masood has been selected after the retirement of Mohammad Hafeez from Test cricket.

“Mohammad Amir makes a comeback in the team after regaining his form in the domestic cricket, giving strength to fast bowling attack that includes four pace bowlers. Mohammad Rizwan has been included in the squad after performing consistently in the domestic cricket and for Pakistan ’A’,” concludes Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq.

Pakistan’s squad

Sarfaraz Ahmad (Captain – WK)
Imam ul Haq
Fakhar Zaman
Shan Masood
Azhar Ali
Haris Sohail
Asad Shafiq
Babar Azam
Muhammad Rizwan
Yasir Shah
Shadab Khan
Muhammad Abbas
Hassan Ali
Muhammad Amir
Faheem Ashraf
Shaheen Shah Afridi