Pakistan crush New Zealand in final T20 to complete series whitewash

Pakistan crush New Zealand in final T20 to complete series whitewash

New Zealand: 119/ all out in 16.5 overs

Pakistan: 166/3 in 20 overs

DUBAI – Pakistan trounced New Zealand by 47 runs in the third and final Twenty20 International to complete another series whitewash at Dubai International Cricket Stadium in UAE on Sunday night.

Babar Azam and Mohammad Hafeez struck the 50s as Pakistan posted 166/3 against New Zealand in the third and final Twenty20.

Babar Azam has overtaken Virat Kohli’s record to become the fastest batsman to score 1,000 runs in T20.

Azam achieved the feat during Pakistan’s match against New Zealand in Dubai. He has scored 1,000 runs in 26 innings

Pakistan lived up to their billing as the world’s best T20 team with a six-wicket victory over New Zealand in Dubai on Friday to clinch the three-match series 2-0.

The victory gave world number one ranked Pakistan their 7th consecutive win since July and 15th in 17 T20 internationals this year.

Babar Azam is 48 runs away from becoming the sixth Pakistan batsman to reach the 1000-run landmark in T20Is.

Azam will have a chance today to break Virat Kohli’s fastest 1000 runs record if he scores another 48 runs.

Since Sarfraz Ahmed took over as captain in September 2016, Pakistan have beaten England (1-0), West Indies (3-0 and 3-1), a World XI (2-1), Sri Lanka (3-0), New Zealand (2-1), West Indies (3-0), Scotland (2-0), and Australia (3-0).

The T20 series will be followed by a three-match one-day international (ODI) series with matches on November 7, 9 and 11.

The three-match Test series between Pakistan and New Zealand will begin from November 16.

The second Test will be played on November 24 and the third and final Test on December 3.