Quetta Gladiators defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 6 wickets in the third match of Pakistan Super League played in Dubai on Friday.

Zalmi had set a 156-run target for Quetta Gladiators to win the match.

Kamran Akmal and Misbahul Haq scored 49 each off 36 and 32 deliveries respectively. Misbah remained not out.

Sohaib Maqsood scored 26 runs for his side off 29 deliveries.

Mohammad Nawaz dismissed two Zalmi batsmen, while Ghulam Mudassir and Irfan Junior took one wicket each.

Gladiators’ Captain Sarfraz Ahmed earlier won the toss, putting in rivals Zalmi to bat first in the match.

In the first doubleheader of the tournament, Quetta Gladiators led by Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed is looking to exact revenge against the Darren Sammy-led Peshawar Zalmi who knocked them out by just one run in last year’s eliminator.

Quetta are banking on local talent in the form of batsman Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad, who along with Mohammad Asghar and Jalat Khan, add much needed power to the Gladiators squad.

For Quetta, Australian all-rounder Shane Watson is the key foreign player. However, they are without the services of Windies spinner Sunil Narine who sustained a finger injury in the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League, ruling him out of the early stages of the PSL. As a cover, Gladiators have roped in Somerset’s Max Waller on a short-term deal for the injured Narine.

They are also bolstered by the addition of Windies T20 stalwart Dwayne Bravo and Australian leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed, who comes into the tournament after a decent showing in the Big Bash League for Sydney Thunder.

Peshawar Zalmi, on the other hand, are boosted by the addition of experienced batsman Misbah-ul-Haq who was previously attached to Islamabad United. The one-time champions have in their ranks PSL’s all-time leading run-scorer Kamran Akmal and leading wicket-taker Wahab Riaz, who make Zalmi a force to reckon with.

Hasan Ali and new signing Imam-ul-Haq have also added star power to the Zalmi squad. They have further strengthened their squad by adding West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard.


Quetta Gladiators

Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Shane Watson, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Azam Khan, Saud Shakeel, Sunil Narine, Sohail Tanvir, Dwayne Bravo, Fawad Ahmed, Jalat Khan, Mohammad Asghar, Danish Aziz, Ahsan Ali, Ghulam Mudassar, Naseem Shah, Harry Gurney

Peshawar Zalmi

Darren Sammy (c), Kamran Akmal, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Sameen Gul, Khalid Usman, Umaid Asif, Liam Dawson, Misbah-ul-Haq, Kieron Pollard, Dawid Malan, Umar Amin, Sohaib Maqsood, Wayne Madsen, Nabi Gul, Jamal Anwar, Chris Jordan, Ibtisam Sheikh, Samiullah, Waqar Salamkheil