Super-Calm Asad Shafiq Equals a Unique Record For Pakistan

They say that the longer they remain in the middle, batsmen are able to see the ball better. However, this logic goes out the window as soon as a batsman reaches the ‘nervous nineties’.

Irrespective of their talent and ability, the pressure of reaching the 100-run milestone has often gotten the better of many batsmen. One such example is Sachin Tendulkar, who scored runs for fun and reached a hundred international centuries in his international career. However, the Little Master had his fair share of vows as he crumbled 27 times in the nervous nineties.

The Australian, Don Bradman, leads the list of most centuries without a nervous 90 with 29 centuries. Greg Chappell and Micheal Vaughan follow him with 24 and 18 centuries respectively.

The latest to join the list is Asad Shafiq, who has equaled the record of Ijaz Ahmed with 12 centuries, most by any Pakistani batsman in Test match history.

Asad Shafiq scored his latest 100 in the 3rd Test of the ongoing series against New Zealand. He made a total of 104 runs after surviving 259 deliveries in a ‘tough’ situation.

Here is what the list looks like:

Batsman Nationality Centuries
Don Bradman Australia 29
Greg Chappell Australia 24
Micheal Vaughan England 18
Ian Botham England 14
Carl Hooper West Indies 13
Polly Umrigar India 12
Ijaz Ahmed Pakistan 12
Asad Shafiq Pakistan 12

Contrary to the criticism Asad Shafiq attracted when he first made his debut for Pakistan, the 32-year-old has scored runs in conditions across the globe.

Shafiq has scored over 4,000 runs for Pakistan at an average of 40.16 in the 66 matches he has played. He also has 21 half-centuries to his name. The breakdown of his 100-run milestone is as following:

Century Count Year Venue Score Opposition
1 2011 Chittagong 104 Bangladesh
2 2012 Pallekele 100*  Sri Lanka
3 2013 Cape Town 111   South Africa
4 2013 Dubai 130 South Africa
5 2014 Sharjah 137 New Zealand
6 2015 Dhaka 107 Bangladesh
7 2015 Galle 131 Sri Lanka
8 2015 Abu Dhabi 107 England
9 2016 The Oval 109 England
10 2106 Brisbane 137 Australia
11 2017 Dubai 112 Sri Lanka
12 2018 Abu Dhabi 104 New Zealand